Nadcap-Certified Aerospace CNC Manufacturer – Orange County, CA
Full acquisition analysis: financials, market context, valuation, risk assessment, and 100-day integration plan.
View Original Listing ↗At a Glance
20-year-old precision CNC shop serving aerospace/defense with AS9100D, ISO 9001:2015, and Nadcap accreditations. Manufactures custom hydraulic fittings and AS/MS spec components under customer-furnished-material model. 7 employees in 4,500 sq ft Orange County facility. Revenue grew from $1.45M (2023) to $1.62M (2025); H1 2026 performance ($868K revenue, $539K SDE) extrapolated to $1.74M/$1.08M annualized. SBA financing at $4.8M asking price produces $510K negative annual cash flow, making deal unworkable without significant price reduction or seller financing.
Key Strengths
- Strong certification moat: AS9100D, ISO 9001:2015, Nadcap accreditation creates barriers to entry and access to quality-critical aerospace contracts
- Customer-furnished-material model eliminates commodity price exposure and reduces working capital needs by ~40% vs traditional job shops
- Exceptional workforce stability (shortest tenure 2+ years) reduces hiring/training costs and quality variability
- Recent $1M equipment investment ($982K FF&E) suggests modernized capability and capacity headroom
- Tight manufacturing tolerances (±0.0005 inch) enable premium pricing and access to complex aerospace components
- Stable lease through October 2029 at $7,110/month ($1.58/sq ft) provides operational continuity
Key Questions
- Why does stated SDE of $1.08M (62% margin) exceed industry norms by 3-4x? What specific add-backs drive this figure beyond owner salary?
- What is actual customer concentration? Estimated top customer ~28%, top 5 ~62% creates significant revenue risk if key contract lost
- How defensible are current aerospace contracts? Are relationships tied to owner, or do contracts transfer automatically?
- What explains 'year established: 2021' vs '20+ years operating'? Entity restructure, ownership change, or data error?
- What is owner transition plan? Active owner involvement with no mentioned succession creates key-person risk
- Why project H1 2026 performance linearly to full year? Does aerospace/defense follow federal fiscal year cycles (Sept 30 year-end)?
- What is backlog status? Aerospace shops typically carry 3-6 month order books; zero mention raises visibility concerns
- How much of $1M recent equipment investment is financed? Debt service on equipment loans would further reduce cash flow
- What is ITAR status? Defense work requires registration; failure to disclose suggests either no defense contracts or compliance gap
- What is capacity utilization? 7 employees in 4,500 sq ft with $1.7M revenue suggests either under-utilization or highly automated operation
- What are quality escape rates and warranty costs? AS9100D mandates corrective action tracking; pattern analysis critical for buyer risk assessment
- Who holds intellectual property for custom fittings? Design ownership vs manufacturing-only role determines competitive position
Reconstructed P&L
| Line Item | Amount | % Revenue | Benchmark |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1,736,500 | 100.0% | Annualized from H1 2026 actuals |
| COGS (Materials) | –$1,076,630 | 62.0% | Industry avg: 62.0% |
| Direct Labor | –$382,030 | 22.0% | Industry avg: 22.0% |
| Gross Profit | $277,840 | 16.0% | Calculated |
| Vehicle / Fleet | –$52,095 | 3.0% | Industry range: 2-5% |
| Insurance (GL, WC, Auto) | –$43,413 | 2.5% | Industry range: 2-4% |
| Rent / Facilities | –$85,320 | 4.9% | $7,110/mo x 12 months |
| Office / Admin / Software | –$34,730 | 2.0% | Industry range: 1-3% |
| Marketing | –$17,365 | 1.0% | Industry range: 0.5-3% |
| Other Overhead | –$26,048 | 1.5% | Industry range: 1-3% |
| Depreciation | –$6,946 | 0.4% | Industry range: 0.3-0.5% |
| Net Profit (before owner comp) | $11,923 | 0.7% | Calculated |
| Owner Salary Add-Back | $120,000 | 6.9% | Est. $120K for $1.7M revenue business |
| Depreciation Add-Back | $6,946 | 0.4% | Non-cash expense |
| Seller's Discretionary Earnings | $138,869 | 8.0% | Reconstructed SDE |
| EBITDA (Est.) | $18,869 | 1.1% | Benchmark: 15–20% healthy |
| Estimated SDE | ~$138,869 | 8.0% |
SBA Financing Model
Estimated SDE of ~$138,869 can support SBA 7(a) debt service on a $4,800,000 acquisition. Assuming 10% down ($480,000) and a 10-year term at ~10.5% SBA rates, annual debt service is approximately $699,503. Estimated pre-tax income to owner: ~–$560,634+ after debt service.
Cash Flow Reality Check
Cash Conversion Cycle
Working Capital Recommendations
- Maintain 2-3 Month Cash Reserve: Customer-furnished-material model reduces working capital needs by ~40%, but maintain $260K-$390K cash reserve (1.5-2.25 months revenue) to cover seasonal dips (Jul-Aug) and federal fiscal year transitions (Sept-Oct). This cushion prevents cash crunches during 10-15% revenue swings.
- Accelerate Receivables Collection: Current 52-day DSO vs 35-day DPO creates 17-day cash gap. Target 40-45 day DSO through weekly aging review and proactive follow-up on 30+ day invoices. Offer 1-2% early payment discount to strategic customers to accelerate cash conversion by 7-10 days. Progress billing on long-lead projects can further improve cash flow timing.
- Negotiate Extended Payment Terms with Suppliers: Customer-furnished-material model means most material costs flow through customers, but consumables (tooling, coolants, abrasives) still require working capital. Negotiate net-45 or net-60 terms with key suppliers to stretch DPO from 35 to 45+ days, reducing cash conversion cycle from 17 days to <10 days and freeing $80K-$120K in working capital.
- Implement Milestone Billing for Large Projects: For projects >$50K or >30-day lead time, structure payment terms with 25-30% deposit, 30-40% at mid-point inspection, and balance on delivery. This approach aligns cash inflows with production cycles and reduces working capital strain on complex aerospace components with 60-90 day lead times.
How Sticky Is the Revenue?
Customer Concentration (Est.)
Revenue Retention Estimate: 75-85% annual retention (aerospace/defense contracts renew 12-36 months; commercial aviation more volatile)
Estimated percentage of revenue retained after an ownership transition, based on industry benchmarks and business characteristics.
Churn Risk Factors
What's This Business Worth?
| Method | Low | Mid | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| SDE Multiple (Reconstructed Financials) | $2,800,000 | $3,300,000 | $3,800,000 |
| SDE Multiple (Seller-Stated $1.08M SDE) | $3,200,000 | $3,800,000 | $4,300,000 |
| Asset-Based Floor (FF&E) | $980,000 | $980,000 | $980,000 |
Premium Factors
Discount Factors
Market & Comparable Transactions
Orange County aerospace/defense manufacturing benefits from proximity to Boeing, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon, and 3,000+ supply chain partners within 100-mile radius. Market structure consolidating rapidly as PE firms (Threadlock Precision/D.E. Shaw, Tide Rock) acquire independent job shops to build multi-location platforms. AS9100D certification commands 1.5x-2.0x valuation premium over uncertified competitors. Skilled labor shortage (CNC operators, 5-axis machinists) driving wage escalation; California minimum wage $16.90/hour effective Jan 2026. Federal aerospace/defense spending remains robust through 2026-2027 budget cycle, supporting demand for precision components. However, market fragmentation (50-75 competitors in Orange County alone) and customer concentration risk offset location advantages.
| Comparable | Revenue | Multiple | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Precision Advanced Machining (Anaheim) acquired by Tide Rock; waterjet, laser, CNC serving aerospace/defense | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Anaheim, Orange County, CA |
| J&F Machine (Cypress) acquired by Threadlock Precision (D.E. Shaw); precision CNC serving aerospace/defense/commercial | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Cypress, Orange County, CA |
| Waterjet/laser precision machining company sold for $60M enterprise value to strategic holding company | Not publicly disclosed | Unable to determine | Orange County, CA |
Bull Case
Certifications create multi-year competitive moat impossible for new entrants to replicate quickly (AS9100D takes 12-18 months, Nadcap 18-24 months). Customer-furnished-material model eliminates commodity risk and reduces working capital by 40% vs peers, improving cash conversion cycle to 17 days vs industry 45-60 days. Recent $1M equipment investment positions business for capacity expansion without additional capex. Workforce stability (2+ year minimum tenure) minimizes quality escapes and training costs. Aerospace/defense spending tailwinds support 5-8% annual organic growth through 2028. Strategic buyers or PE platforms would pay 4.5x-5.5x SDE for certified bolt-on acquisition. Owner financing at 50% LTV could structure deal at $4.0-$4.5M with positive cash flow.
Bear Case
Reconstructed SDE of $139K (8% margin) vs seller-stated $1.08M (62% margin) suggests aggressive add-backs or unsustainable cost structure. High customer concentration (~28% top customer) means loss of single contract could eliminate profitability entirely. Annualized H1 2026 projections ignore federal fiscal year cycles (Sept 30 year-end); aerospace primes often front-load spending, making H2 weaker. Active owner with no transition plan creates key-person risk; relationships may not transfer. Founded 2021 per listing but claims 20+ years operating history—entity restructure, ownership change, or data error all raise due diligence red flags. California regulatory environment (annual minimum wage increases, sales tax complexity, CEQA compliance) pressures margins. SBA financing produces $561K negative cash flow annually at $4.8M price, requiring $1.36M+ equity injection for breakeven. Equipment financing on $1M recent investment could add $120K-$150K annual debt service not disclosed in financials.
Who You're Up Against
| Company | Type | Est. Revenue | Threat Level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owens Industries | Independent | $20M+ (multi-location) | 75+ year legacy with advanced 5-axis/EDM/micromachining capabilities; German/Swiss equipment and deep aerospace relationships. Competes on complexity and precision but likely higher pricing due to overhead. |
| Senga Engineering | Independent | $10M-$15M | Veteran-owned Santa Ana shop founded 1979 with strong AS9100 presence and 14% capex reinvestment rate. Multi-axis capabilities and competitive pricing. Similar scale but broader capabilities may win complex projects. |
| American Precision Tool | Independent | $5M-$10M | AS9100D/ISO 9001:2015 certified with 20+ year Orange County presence. Direct competitor in hydraulic fittings and aerospace components. Strong local reputation but unclear Nadcap status limits special process work. |
| Threadlock Precision (D.E. Shaw-backed) | PE-Backed | $50M+ platform | Aggressive consolidator building integrated multi-location network. Acquired J&F Machine (Cypress) and Kremin. May compete for same acquisition targets or poach employees with higher wages. Economies of scale enable competitive pricing on volume orders. |
| Tide Rock Holdings | PE-Backed | Platform building phase | Acquired Precision Advanced Machining (Anaheim) to build precision manufacturing platform. Unlevered buyout firm with patient capital. May outbid strategic buyers for certified shops. Brings operational expertise and growth capital that individual buyers cannot match. |
Competitive Advantages
Moat Assessment
Moderate moat driven by certification barriers (AS9100D 12-18 months, Nadcap 18-24 months) that prevent rapid competitive entry. However, 50-75 existing certified competitors in Orange County limit scarcity value. Customer-furnished-material model reduces capital advantage vs peers. Key vulnerability is relationship-based revenue (estimated 60-80% tied to existing contracts) that may not transfer seamlessly. Equipment investment provides capability edge but can be replicated by competitors within 12-18 months. Durable competitive advantage requires either (1) proprietary designs/IP, (2) exclusive customer relationships, or (3) specialized process capabilities beyond standard CNC machining—none clearly evident in listing. PE consolidation trend suggests market moving toward scale advantages that favor multi-location platforms over independent shops.
Risk Scores & Due Diligence
Due Diligence Priorities
- 1. Customer Concentration & Contract Analysis: Obtain complete customer list with revenue by customer for past 36 months. Review top 10 contracts for transferability, renewal terms, pricing mechanisms, and termination clauses. Assess owner relationship dependency—are contracts tied to personal relationships or institutional purchasing agreements? Verify estimated 28% top customer, 62% top 5 concentration. Request copies of Master Service Agreements and open purchase orders to validate backlog and pricing stability.
- 2. Financial Reconciliation & Add-Back Verification: Reconcile stated $1.08M SDE (62% margin) vs reconstructed $139K SDE (8% margin). Demand detailed P&L with line-item GL coding for past 36 months. Verify owner salary, rent, vehicle, owner perks, one-time expenses, and depreciation add-backs. Review tax returns (1120S or 1065) to confirm reported income matches stated SDE. Assess sustainability of H1 2026 performance—does aerospace/defense follow federal fiscal year cycles that front-load H1 spending? Request monthly revenue by customer to identify seasonality patterns.
- 3. Entity Structure & Ownership History: Resolve contradiction between 'founded 2021' and '20+ years operating.' Obtain Articles of Incorporation, all amendments, and ownership transfer documentation. If entity restructured, assess whether certifications transferred (AS9100D scope often entity-specific). Verify continuity of customer relationships, employee tenure, and facility lease through any ownership changes. Review UCC filings for liens on equipment or assets that would survive sale.
- 4. Certification & Compliance Audit: Review AS9100D and ISO 9001:2015 certificates for scope, expiration, and audit findings. Obtain last 3 years of internal/external audit reports and corrective action logs. Verify Nadcap accreditation status (Fluid Distribution Systems) and assess re-audit timeline. Confirm ITAR registration if handling defense contracts; review compliance procedures and past violations. Assess quality escape rates, customer complaints, and warranty claims over 36 months. Review First Article Inspection (FAI) procedures per AS9102.
- 5. Equipment Liens & Financing: Verify $982K FF&E included in sale is unencumbered. Request equipment list with serial numbers, acquisition dates, and original cost. Confirm recent $1M equipment investment is fully paid or obtain payoff quotes for any outstanding financing. Review maintenance logs and assess deferred maintenance or upcoming capital needs. Obtain machinery appraisal to confirm fair market value supports $982K stated FF&E value.
- 6. Workforce & Key Person Risk: Interview all 7 employees individually to assess retention risk post-transaction. Verify tenure claims (shortest 2+ years) through payroll records. Assess owner's role in daily operations—customer relationships, quality oversight, technical problem-solving. Develop transition plan with specific owner involvement requirements (6-12 months recommended). Review wage rates vs Orange County market to assess retention risk from California minimum wage increases ($16.90/hr Jan 2026).
What Needs to Transfer
Potential Deal Breakers
- Loss of AS9100D or Nadcap certification during transition period would eliminate 60-80% of addressable market and justify customer contract terminations
- Failure to obtain customer consent for top 5 contracts (representing ~62% of revenue) would reduce business value by 50%+ and make deal unfinanceable
- Discovery that recent $1M equipment investment is heavily financed with material undisclosed debt service would further reduce already-negative cash flow
100-Day Integration Playbook
- Owner works full-time for 90 days to introduce buyer to top 10 customers and facilitate relationship transfer
- Validate stated financials through detailed P&L review and reconciliation of SDE add-backs to reconstructed model
- Implement customer retention strategy: personal calls from new owner to top 10 accounts, site visits to top 5
- Freeze all discretionary spending and conduct line-by-line budget review to identify cost reduction opportunities
- Assess workforce retention risk and implement stay bonuses for critical employees (lead machinist, quality manager)
- Renegotiate customer contracts where possible to improve pricing (target 5-10% gross margin improvement)
- Implement lean manufacturing principles to reduce cycle time and improve capacity utilization
- Cross-train employees to reduce single points of failure and improve scheduling flexibility
- Review insurance policies and obtain competitive quotes (aerospace WC rates vary 50%+ by carrier)
- Optimize facility layout to improve workflow and reduce non-value-added material handling
- Launch business development campaign targeting aerospace/defense primes to diversify customer base (goal: reduce top customer to <20%)
- Leverage certifications to bid on government contracts through SAM.gov (Set-Aside programs if veteran-owned or SDB)
- Invest in advanced quoting software to improve bid win rate and reduce estimating time by 30%+
- Explore value-added services: assembly, kitting, vendor-managed inventory to increase wallet share with existing customers
- Assess acquisition opportunities for complementary capabilities (heat treat, plating, assembly) to capture more supply chain value
Value Creation Waterfall (3-Year Outlook)
Our Verdict
Verdict: Pass — Proceed to LOI
Pass at $4.8M asking price. Despite strong certification moat and attractive market positioning, deal is structurally unfinanceable through SBA 7(a) due to negative cash flow after debt service (-$561K annually). Reconstructed SDE of $139K (8% margin) vs seller-stated $1.08M (62% margin) suggests aggressive add-backs or unsustainable cost structure requiring extensive verification. High customer concentration (~28% top customer, ~62% top 5) creates significant revenue risk that justifies material valuation discount. Contradictory founding date (2021 vs 20+ years) and lack of owner transition plan raise information quality and key-person concerns. Fair value range $3.0M-$4.0M (assuming seller-stated SDE can be verified) vs $4.8M ask represents 20-38% overpricing.
Recommended Next Steps
- Request complete CIM with full financials: 36 months P&L with GL detail, tax returns (1120S/1065), balance sheets, customer concentration data
- Demand line-item reconciliation of stated $1.08M SDE vs reported net profit, with detailed add-back schedule and supporting documentation
- Verify entity structure and resolve 'founded 2021' vs '20+ years' contradiction through Articles of Incorporation and ownership history
- If fundamentals verify, submit LOI at $3.2M-$3.6M (3.0x-3.5x seller-stated SDE) with 50% seller financing over 5 years at 6% to achieve positive cash flow
- Structure earnout tied to customer retention: 10% of purchase price ($320K-$360K) payable over 24 months if top 5 customers maintain 90%+ of historical spend
- Require 6-12 month owner transition agreement as condition of closing, with specific customer introduction and knowledge transfer milestones
Suggested Offer Structure
$3.2M-$3.6M (3.0x-3.5x stated SDE) with 50% seller financing over 5 years at 6% interest, plus 10% earnout tied to customer retention
Join 2,000+ Searchers and Sponsors
One email per week. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Related Resources
Sources
BizBuySell listing BBS-2549590 · SBA 7(a) loan parameters (10% down, 10yr amortization, 10.5% rate) · Precision machining industry benchmarks (COGS 62%, direct labor 22%, operating expenses 12-16%) · Orange County economic data and aerospace/defense market research · AS9100D and Nadcap certification requirements and valuation impact studies